Home   I   Search   I   A - Z Index   I   Contact Us


Please email us if you encounter information in this website for which you know there is an update or correction. Thank You!




L.A. Maps Online

LA Map

Click on Map Above




Bishops, Archbishops and Cardinals of the Los Angeles Archdiocese

1840 - 1846 Bishop Francisco Garcia Diego y Moreno
1850 - 1853 Bishop Joseph S. Alemany
1854 - 1878 Bishop Thaddeus Amat
1878 - 1896 Bishop Francis Mora
1896 - 1903 Bishop George T. Montgomery
1903 - 1915 Bishop Thomas J. Conaty
1917 - 1947 Archbishop John J. Cantwell
1948 - 1970 Cardinal James Francis McIntyre
1970 - 1985 Cardinal Timothy Manning
1985 - 2011 Cardinal Roger M. Mahony
2011 - Present Archbishop José Horacio Gómez

Bishop Amat moved the seat of the Monterey-Los Angeles Diocese to Los Angeles in 1859. It was under his oversight that, in 1876, St. Vibiana Cathedral was built.

Archbishop John J. Cantwell served as head of the Los Angeles Archdiocese for 30 years, longer than any in his succession. The Los Angeles diocese was elevated to an Archdiocese and Bishop Cantwell to Archbishop in 1936.

Archbishop J. Francis McIntyre was appointed by Pope Pius XII in 1952 to become the first Cardinal in the western United States.

Cardinal Roger M. Mahony was the first head of the Los Angeles Archdiocese to have been born in Los Angeles.

Archbishop Gómez is the first Hispanic to serve as Archbishop of Los Angeles.


Religion Main Page Browse to Next Page



L.A. Wall Maps:
L.A. City Neighborhoods
L.A. City Zip Codes
All L.A. County





Write to Us

Visitor Agreement

Privacy Statement

Copyright © 1998-2016 by Given Place Media, All Rights Reserved.
All original text, photos, and graphics in the Los Angeles Almanac web site are copyrighted
and may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed without permission.
We make no copyright claim, however, to statistical data featured in this web site.
Get permission to use content contained within this website.